.

Letter: 'An Inside Look at Fantasy League'

A PHS senior weighs in on the "fantasy slut league" issue.

Editor's note: Although Piedmont Patch normally does not published unsigned letters, we have withheld this writer's name on request. This was not an "anonymous" letter; the writer supplied her name and other details, and Patch has had several communications with her. The writer asked to have her name omitted from her letter because "I have personal connections to 'FSL' and those who participated in it, the administration, and those who plan to produce an informational assembly on this issue later in the year. This puts me in a delicate position from which it would be difficult to openly voice my opinion" if her name were published. Her age was also a factor in our decision to withhold her name.

Dear Parents, Teachers, Staff, Students and Concerned Citizens of Piedmont,

I am writing in regards to the recent revelations regarding the “Fantasy Slut League” at Piedmont High School. I am a senior girl at Piedmont High School. I read the email Principal Kitchens sent out on October 19th regarding “FSL” and I am writing for a variety of reasons. Firstly, the Administration’s email contained some factual inaccuracies. Secondly, the email is unnecessarily sensationalist. And thirdly, I am frustrated with the Administration's attempts to speak for the female population of Piedmont High School. I do not condone the infantile, immature, and insulting actions of those who created and participated in FSL, but I think students and parents deserve the truth as students have experienced it and the reality “on the ground” so to speak.  

The Administration’s email is rife with factual errors. The email stated that, “Male students earn points for documented engagement in sexual activities with female students.” This is not true. Female students score the points for their “team” by engaging in any documented form of sexual act with any boy or girl which, through gossip, comes to be known by the boys. The boys who participate in FSL are thus not incentivized to coerce or force sexual acts with the females on their team in the same way that the email suggests.

Furthermore, the “acts” were not documented in the sense that they were videotaped or photographed as has been suggested by some. The word “documented” refers to the fact that the boys recorded common gossip on the page, amassing a sort of “gossip log.”

The email then went on to say that, “Participation often involved pressure/manipulation by older students that included alcohol to impair judgment/control and social demands to be popular, feel included and attractive to upper classmen.” The Administration suggests that this manipulative environment is the result of the coercive actions of the select few boys who participate in FSL.

The pressure younger students may feel to engage in activities with which they are not comfortable is part of and a product of every Piedmont student. To suggest otherwise is to attempt to sweep the truth of this issue under the rug. By shutting down FSL, by reprimanding these boys, the administration has not rid Piedmont of this harmful environment. This is a larger issue than just FSL and these boys do not deserve to be vilified with factual fallacy for an environment of which they are merely a small product.

To tie FSL to the school’s Date Rape Prevention Assembly is overt and needless sensationalism. FSL and other forms of gossip do not encourage rape. Rape is unconscionable, vile, and terrible. It is not the product of immature boys who partake in a glorified gossip group. By alluding to rape and FSL within the same email, the Administration has incited a needless firestorm of outraged parents who know only what they have been told in an email that contains factual inaccuracies and startling misrepresentations.

Lastly, I take issue with the way the email attempts to speak for girls just like me. I know that my name has been mentioned on the FSL page. It makes me uncomfortable, but it does not make me a “victim,” as the email labels me. I am not a victim because I know what FSL truly is. It is not a rape group, as the email, perhaps inadvertently, implies; it is a gossip page where Varsity Footballers talk about what happened last weekend and “who got with who.” I do not appreciate being labeled a “victim” by an administration that is not in possession or understanding of the facts.  

The truth of the matter is that we live in a world that is frequently hostile to young girls and their sense of self-worth. FSL did not create this unfriendly world, this unfriendly world created FSL. FSL is merely evidence of a larger societal problem that we must, as a community, address. I hope that, in the future, the administration will reach out to the so-called “victims” before they decide to speak for, act for, and represent them. The administration desperately needs to facilitate discussion with their entire student body before they assess and act upon situations such as this.

Thank you.

Editor's note: Letters to the editor are published at the discretion of Piedmont Patch's editor in accordance with the site's Terms of Use. If you have a letter you would like to have considered for publication, please e-mail it to dixie.jordan@patch.com. Letters should be no longer than 600 words and will not be posted anonymously. Please include a daytime phone number with your email in case we need to contact you for verification or questions. Your phone number will not be published.

Don't miss a day of Piedmont news, opinion and events. Sign up for the Piedmont Patch e-newsletter here. And 'like' us on Facebook!

Al in SoCal October 23, 2012 at 05:59 PM
Just saw this story and read up on it, now I found this letter and couldn't be more sad for the girls here defending the FSB (couldn't bring themselves to even spell out the crude name) and our kids in general. I'm not a prude by any means and quite liberal - as I believe free and plentiful birth control should be available to HS students. Unfortunately, even from this letter it is apparent to that pressure is involved and the "scoring" of points does take place. The pressure is what I'm most concerned about as everyone reading this should be. Pressure should never .. NEVER be involved when it comes to sexual activity and to learn this as young as these kids are is a tough pill to swallow. The writer of this letter did make a comment that I fully agree with. That this Fantasy Slut League is a symptom of society's misogynistic views - definitely agree, but that is no excuse to let this type of activity continue.
Chris October 23, 2012 at 06:25 PM
To the author of this letter and "Piedmont Girl," read "Jenn"'s post, above. I can add little else to what s/he has already masterfully said. Misogynist campaigns like the Fantasy Sex League are in _no way_ "empowering" for women, even if women are "allowed" to self-report on their escapades. Even by your own admission, author, you are engaging in these activities and reporting them _for the titillation and prurient interest of the boys on your varsity sports teams_. Buying into the culture established by the boys at your school- that sexual encounters are like trophies, meant to be acquired and displayed publicly- establishes you _precisely_ as a victim, fully within the male-dominated hierarchies of your varsity players. If you wish to claim your own sexuality, you'll get no complaints from me..._that_, at least, is laudable. _Broadcasting it_ to win the kudos of your male classmates, however, is not the way to you to gain strength from your womanhood.
fsl player October 23, 2012 at 07:47 PM
Jenn you are sexist
ml1999 October 23, 2012 at 08:37 PM
I wonder about how much coaching from their male peers, boyfriends, or parents are in these supposedly true posts. One high schooler says that this is "blown out of proportion". Really? One of many sad statements, or maybe whitewashing of this long-held tradition at PHS. I then we go into the "society's misogynistic views". Again. Really? I think there has been desensitization here, which we already had, but sprinkle on top the iPhone, twitter, and rap music, which are all tools to assist these teenagers in often vile, vulgar, animalistic behavor. (Parents, read your children's Twitter accounts to see the drug use, booze, promiscuity and foul behavior.) The Principal here apparently is a cover up artist / CYA expert, as he wouldn't even identify the football team as a culprit! I guess he doesn't want to anger the team, coaches, parents, or possible college recruits. How SAD. Where are the consequences? What administrators ducked the issues? Even the Superintendent is now playing CYA. What a joke. Well well, now that TMZ is onto your little FSL "story", PHS will feel the blowback for treating their students like pawns. The parents should be ashamed of themselves, and why haven't they already thrown away their kids iPhones, and deleted their twitter accounts? If my kid were on the football team, I'd seriously consider sending him to a military boot camp in the middle of nowwhere. Actions have consequences. Maybe we have seen where a godless society heads?
RECENT PHS GRAD October 23, 2012 at 09:59 PM
I am a recent piedmont graduate and I participated in the league. The letter sent out by Mr. Kitchens is incredibly inaccurate and has blown FSL into something it is not. Kitchens and the media have spun FSL into some kind of alcohol fueled rape circle. This is disgustingly false. The name "fantasy slut league" is a spin off of fantasy football, not realizing sexual fantasies. The league is modeled after the fantasy football game, we drafted girls who were known to be sexually promiscuous, and through gossip, kept track of their sexual endeavors. We never drafted girls with the intention of hooking up with them personally. We did not target specific girls for sex or provide them with alcohol. We sat back and observed what they were doing on their own free will. Throughout the years FSL was going on, there was constant emphasis from the participants to not take anything too far or do anything that would cause someone harm. We used FSL as a glorified means of gossip, and the media has twisted it into something disgusting. FSL went on for four years, not five or six, and was on the decline when the current seniors at piedmont started playing. In regards to FSL being an "open secret," the school absolutely knew about for years. It was a matter of discussion in my sophomore social psychology class before I was old enough to be a participant. FSL was not used to influence behavior, it was used to observe and tally it. We were young and stupid, but not predators.
kellyripafan27 October 23, 2012 at 10:17 PM
I thought insane mothers like you died out in the early 90s?
kellyripafan27 October 23, 2012 at 10:34 PM
also TMZ has no articles about this. So most likely your the one who sent these articles to them, as well as to many other news sources. Thanks for really helping out Piedmont High School and everyone who goes there on this issue!!! You've REALLY done a stand up job! congrats on ruining a whole school of peoples lives, now news vans are there 24-7. hope your happy.
kellyripafan27 October 23, 2012 at 10:37 PM
you prob think your so high and mighty behind your computer screen too.
PHSGirl2013 October 23, 2012 at 11:30 PM
Why can't I broadcast my "womanhood" or my sexuality? I don't think you, Chris, are the authority of strong women.
bystander October 24, 2012 at 12:14 AM
Nowhere in this letter did the author say that she "broadcasts" her own personal life, nor was any mention made of female empowerment, hers or otherwise. You seem to be reading your own biases into the piece instead of considering her entirely valid point of view. She, unlike most people commenting, is not looking for a scapegoat and instead is trying, quite admirably, to turn everyone's attention to the larger environmental factors at play. For someone who appears to be interested in standing up for women, you have completely ignored what this young woman had to say and are now condemning her for things that she never wrote.
Geo October 24, 2012 at 02:50 AM
Mr. Kitchens himself taught me the definition of statutory rape.
PHS Senior Girl October 24, 2012 at 02:51 AM
@Jenn You're reinforcing misogyny by acting as if it's horrible for high-school aged girls to be casual about hooking up. Adults have no right to condemn us for "loose sexual behavior;" I doubt that you were a saint in high school. If you were, to each their own but please allow us to make our own decisions regarding our sex lives.
girl student October 24, 2012 at 04:20 AM
lots of different teams did the leagues. boys teams did leagues. and girls teams did their own leagues. it was all stupid. but boys weren't pressuring girls, and girls weren't pressuring boys. we were all being stupid. don't you get it? boys and girls were both doing it. no one pressured anyone.
Babaloo October 24, 2012 at 05:37 AM
This is Fabulous. The entire issue is just a real disappointment to myself and to our community. Whether it is true or NOT. Just the entire scenario is disgusting to me. As a Father, as a man. To openly disrespect another person is unconscionable to me.
Haydee October 24, 2012 at 01:24 PM
Congratulation Piedmont! Your kids have made international news... Greetings from Finland
phs grad 2004 October 24, 2012 at 04:09 PM
"Adults have no right to condemn us for 'loose sexual behavior'"- yes they do. you are a MINOR and your parents are your GUARDIAN. Also, you may want to go for a review of Social Psych- legally speaking anyone under 18 can not legally give consent to sex.
lisa October 24, 2012 at 08:00 PM
What saddens me is that these young women actually believe that their actions fall under the category of being "strong women" and, that along with these young men, who demonstrate so little respect for women, they will graduate PHS, enroll in elite universities and become the future leaders of our country. Broadcasting your sexual exploits doesn't constitute strength, nor does it garner respect in any area that actually matters. There are a lot of great kids in Piedmont who have already figured this out. At some point, the members of the FSL may be able to do so as well. In the meantime, they will probably continue to degrade themselves and others.
Outraged parent October 24, 2012 at 09:41 PM
Perhaps she is not mortified because, like many other girls at PHS, she and other groups of girls set up leagues of their own
Outraged parent October 24, 2012 at 09:42 PM
Your posting is very crass, but if your point is that boys and girls should both shut down these leagues, then you are correct. They are crass and they should be stopped.
piedmont grad October 25, 2012 at 07:58 AM
Piedmont parents: making judgements, thinking their opinions are correct just because their older, not knowing the facts. Your kids can't be honest with you because you freak out about everything. It's understandable your concern, just try and actually listen and trust your kids for once.
A Piedmont Parent October 25, 2012 at 04:01 PM
Imagine one of these girls or boys who belong to FSL running for POTUS in future. And imagine the opposition getting hold of FSL list, which should be quite easy since everything is on-line now. By the way, where do these sexual encounters take place? If it's in someone's home, shouldn't the adults in those home be held responsible instead of HS authorities? Why hold Connie Hubbard or Rich Kitchens responsible for acts they have no control over?
Tas October 25, 2012 at 05:37 PM
Perhaps you could let us know what show, Ms. Bear. Any problem with that?
IGTURBTCH October 25, 2012 at 07:18 PM
To a piedmont parent. You are a rare form in this community. People expect way too much from the school district. They expect them to do what a parent should be taking control over. Then when it doesn't go how they want, out come the attorney's and lawsuits. Just like the parties that are held at these homes. Parents need stop trying to be young again, or "the cool parent" and teach right from wrong. The whole system is corrupt(bought) and will not change .....
ml1999 October 25, 2012 at 08:08 PM
Kelly (Pippa, et al), I guess the gig is up. And why is a potential high school student up at 3:43 AM? Playing with your iPhone?
ml1999 October 25, 2012 at 08:10 PM
Your peers came up with the idea of this "FSL" which would be impossible for any copywriter or paper to ignor. Add the web, and it goes viral. Welcome to the world of consequences.
ml1999 October 25, 2012 at 08:12 PM
Piedmont Parent, let's hope they're a Democrat, then the media will look the other way. (See Franklin Marshall Davis, Barry Sorento, etc.)
concerned_not_fearful October 25, 2012 at 11:45 PM
I'm impressed by the author's attempt to open a mature and dispassionate discussion. I hope she finds some success.
JenJen October 26, 2012 at 04:44 PM
It really is too bad that the roots of the problem are not being addressed: children who are left on their own after school, social and economic inequality, and the pressure to be "the best" in order to go on to "the right" college. Classism, sexism, and rape culture go along with a general tendency to disrespect women, the disabled, and anyone who is a bit different. Popularity contests are nothing new, but adding the layer of sexual behavior to it make it all that much more despicable.
Piedmont Parent October 27, 2012 at 06:11 AM
Jeez, just leave these kids alone...
IlianaY November 24, 2012 at 10:05 AM
"...we drafted girls who were known to be sexually promiscuous, and through gossip, kept track of their sexual endeavors." "Known to be promiscuous"? How are you defining promiscuous? To paraphrase Gore Vidal, someone who has had one more sexual partner than you? If you don't think "Keeping up with their sexual endeavors" and broadcasting them had any impact on their behavior or their lives, you are very naive. It's also kind of creepy and voyeuristic.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something